52 Kiosk Statistics on Market Size, Adoption, Costs and Outcomes

Kiosks are a broad category spanning interactive retail and food terminals, cryptocurrency BTMs, vending and micro-market systems, and public-service self-response stations. The statistics below keep those populations separate, identify the measurement period and geography, and distinguish estimates, surveys, company-reported results and pilot findings.

Key Kiosk Statistics

The most useful headline figures cover market scale, operating reach, financial activity and user response:

  • In 2020, global interactive-kiosk sales were estimated at $10.6 billion, excluding ATMs and refreshment vending machines.
  • In 2021, global interactive-kiosk sales reached $12.1 billion, using the same industry definition.
  • In 2022, global interactive-kiosk sales were estimated at $14.5 billion, excluding ATMs and refreshment vending machines.
  • From 2021 to 2022, interactive-kiosk sales grew 20% globally under that industry estimate.
  • In 2022, vending and micro-market industry revenue grew 12%, a broader measure than interactive kiosks.
  • In 2022, serviced vending and micro-market locations increased 76% among the operators covered by the industry report.
  • In 2022, nearly 80% of vending and micro-market operators were embracing technology, according to a survey.
  • As of March 31, 2024, Agilysys reported IG Kiosk at more than 270 customer sites.
  • As of December 31, 2024, Bitcoin Depot operated approximately 8,500 owned and leased kiosks across its North American network plus Puerto Rico.
  • At December 31, 2024, Bitcoin Depot’s U.S. kiosk and BDCheckout access-point ZIP codes contained approximately 55% of the U.S. population.
  • As of December 31, 2024, Circle K accounted for approximately 1,100 Bitcoin Depot kiosks.
  • In 2023, Bitcoin Depot generated $686.314 million in kiosk transaction revenue, primarily from cryptocurrency transactions.
  • Bitcoin Depot’s kiosk transaction revenue increased 7.2% from 2022 to 2023.
  • In 2023, Bitcoin Depot’s kiosk-operations cost was $19.088 million.
  • At December 31, 2023, Bitcoin Depot had approximately $10.2 million in aggregate operating and finance lease obligations.
  • In the 2018 End-to-End Census Test, 30 Providence County, Rhode Island post offices hosted the kiosk pilot.
  • The 2018 Census kiosk pilot recorded 252 respondent interactions and 111 completed test questionnaires.
  • In the Census pilot, questionnaire completion dropped significantly when a single page took more than 10 seconds to load.

Contents

Global Interactive Kiosk Market Statistics and Growth

The available global market series covers interactive kiosks while explicitly excluding ATMs and refreshment vending machines. These are industry estimates cited in Cantaloupe’s 2024 Form 10-K, not audited government totals.

Period Estimated global interactive-kiosk sales Scope
2020 $10.6 billion Interactive kiosks, excluding ATMs and refreshment vending machines
2021 $12.1 billion Same definition
2022 $14.5 billion Same definition

Source: Cantaloupe, Inc. 2024 Form 10-K.

The reported comparison says sales grew 20% from 2021 to 2022. Calculated from the reported estimates, 2022 was about 36.8% above 2020, while 2021 was about 14.2% above 2020; those two percentages are derived comparisons, not separate market-report figures.

The same filing gives broader vending and micro-market context. Total industry revenue grew 12% in 2022, and 2022 revenue was almost 89% of the industry’s 2019 benchmark high, but neither measure is kiosk-only.

Kiosk Adoption in Food, Retail and Convenience Operations

Adoption data in this section describes vending and micro-market operators, so it should not be read as a direct measure of consumer kiosk use or as a universal return-on-investment result.

  • The number of vending and micro-market locations serviced increased 76% in 2022.
  • Nearly 80% of operators said they were embracing technology in 2022.
  • Almost 80% of operators said cashless payment devices were a great investment in 2022.
  • 62% of operators said pre-kitting was a great investment in 2022.
  • 53% of operators said vending-management systems were a great investment in 2022.

Source: Cantaloupe, Inc. 2024 Form 10-K.

These percentages are survey responses about operator opinions and technology adoption. The filing does not reproduce the survey wording and sample details, and the investment responses describe sentiment rather than measured financial returns; pre-kitting and management systems are also adjacent technologies rather than kiosk outcomes.

Agilysys provides a separate company-deployment reference for hospitality and related operations. As of March 31, 2024, it reported that IG Kiosk had been deployed at more than 270 customer sites, and said the solution served a top-40 U.S. law firm; the filing did not name that customer or quantify the kiosk count.

Source: Agilysys, Inc. 2024 Form 10-K.

Kiosk Deployment Scale and Geographic Reach

Bitcoin Depot illustrates how large a single specialized kiosk network can become. The company reported approximately 8,500 owned and leased kiosks as of December 31, 2024, covering 48 U.S. states and 10 Canadian provinces.

Deployment measure Reported figure Period and scope
Owned and leased kiosks Approximately 8,500 December 31, 2024; Bitcoin Depot network
U.S. coverage 48 states December 31, 2024
Canadian coverage 10 provinces December 31, 2024
Population in covered U.S. ZIP codes Approximately 55% December 31, 2024; kiosks and BDCheckout access points
Circle K deployment Approximately 1,100 kiosks December 31, 2024; within Bitcoin Depot’s fleet

Source: Bitcoin Depot Inc. 2023 Form 10-K.

The approximately 55% population figure is a ZIP-code coverage estimate, not a count of people who used a kiosk or households served. Circle K’s approximately 1,100 units represent one chain deployment within the larger fleet, not an industry total.

Bitcoin Depot also reported approximately 2,100 BTMs with logistics providers for redeployment at December 31, 2024. Those units were not necessarily active customer-facing installations.

Earlier deployment plans show why planned and observed counts should be separated. Bitcoin Depot announced installations in 125 GetGo Café + Market stores in March 2023 across western Pennsylvania, Ohio, northern West Virginia, Maryland and Indiana; that was a forecasted deployment, not evidence that every installation was completed.

As of December 31, 2023, four major lessors financed approximately 6,000 BTMs for Bitcoin Depot. That leasing figure describes financed units, not necessarily the whole operating fleet.

Kiosk Transaction Revenue and Unit Economics

Bitcoin Depot’s reported revenue provides a detailed company-specific view of kiosk economics, especially for cryptocurrency transactions. The figures below should not be generalized to food, retail, government or other kiosk categories.

Measure 2022 2023
Kiosk transaction revenue $639.965 million $686.314 million
Total company revenue Not stated here $688.967 million
BDCheckout revenue Not stated here $1.149 million
Company-website revenue Not stated here $879,000

Source: Bitcoin Depot Inc. 2023 Form 10-K.

Kiosk transaction revenue increased 7.2% from 2022 to 2023. Total 2023 company revenue was $688.967 million, while kiosk transaction revenue was $686.314 million; total company revenue includes other streams.

BDCheckout, a separate channel, generated $1.149 million in 2023 and increased 66.0% from 2022. Company-website revenue was $879,000 in 2023, and software-services revenue was $575,000, down 81.9% year over year after the loss of a significant customer.

Those channels matter when interpreting unit economics. A kiosk operator’s reported revenue can combine physical transactions, access points, website activity and software services, so a company-wide figure is not automatically revenue per installed kiosk.

Kiosk Costs, Leases and Cash Requirements

Operating cost data is similarly organization-specific. Bitcoin Depot reported 2023 total cost of revenue, excluding depreciation and amortization, of $587.938 million, while its kiosk-operations cost was $19.088 million.

  • Kiosk-operations cost increased 23.8% in 2023.
  • Floorspace leases for kiosk locations cost $34.616 million in 2023, down 12.9% from 2022.
  • Aggregate operating and finance lease obligations were approximately $10.2 million at December 31, 2023.
  • Bitcoin Depot had no open purchase orders for kiosks at December 31, 2023.

Source: Bitcoin Depot Inc. 2023 Form 10-K.

The kiosk-operations category is not a full installed-kiosk lifecycle cost: it does not by itself establish hardware purchase price, maintenance cost, staffing, payment fees or cost per transaction. Floorspace leases are reported separately from hardware and should not be added to a per-unit cost without a matching unit denominator.

A separate 2025 reporting company offers another accounting view, but its figures include kiosk-related tangible products, services and rentals rather than only a kiosk fleet. It reported $14.756 million in total cost of sales in 2025, up 50% from 2024; tangible-product cost of sales was $4.465 million, up 40%, and rental cost of sales was $159,606, up 97%.

Source: 2025 Financial Results and Annual Report Exhibit.

That company reported $4.1 million in operating cash flow in 2025, up 187% from 2024, and used $7.0 million in investing cash flow, up 480%. It had invested $1.2 million in investing activities in 2024; the filing attributes part of the later spending to plant and equipment and technology upgrades, but the cash-flow figures remain company-wide.

Kiosk Pilot Outcomes and User Experience

The U.S. Census Bureau’s 2018 End-to-End Census Test provides a public-service kiosk pilot with explicit location and interaction counts. It used 30 post-office locations in Providence County, Rhode Island, rather than a national deployment.

Pilot measure Result Interpretation
Post-office locations 30 Providence County, Rhode Island
Recorded respondent interactions 252 Pilot interactions, not necessarily unique people
Completed test questionnaires 111 Pilot completions
Completed questionnaires as share of interactions About 44.0% Derived from 111 divided by 252
Average interactions per location 8.4 Derived from 252 divided by 30
Average completed questionnaires per location 3.7 Derived from 111 divided by 30

Source: 2020 Research and Testing: 2018 Kiosk Pilot USPS-Census Bureau Partnership.

Across the pilot totals, there were about 2.27 recorded interactions per completed questionnaire, also derived from the reported counts. Because interactions may include repeat or non-completing users, these ratios are descriptive pilot averages rather than response rates for a defined population.

The Census Bureau found a significant drop-off in questionnaire completion when a single ISR page took more than 10 seconds to load. The page reports that relationship in a small pilot but does not provide a universal causal effect size, so the 10-second threshold should be treated as a measured pilot usability finding rather than a guaranteed result in every kiosk setting.

Table of contents